Rockin’ Raisin Bread

I am so impressed with myself. Not to toot my own horn or anything, but I made -arguably- the best cinnamon raisin bread in the history of raisin breads, paleo and non-paleo. Not going to lie, I struggled with the baking time a bit. You want the bread to be moist, but still hard enough to slice (well, at least I do!). I have made paleo raisin bread’s in the past and don’t get me wrong, they were good! But this is GREAT.

Raisin Bread

Verbatim, my roommate after takin’ a bite (He’s my official taste-tester, lucky him):

“Uh, are you putting this on your blog?”

“Yes.”

“It tastes like real bread.” A look of utter shock on his face.

“I know.”

 

Sign, sealed, & a stamp of approval for this recipe!

The nice part about this bread is that it’s really easy, there are no weird ingredients (as far as paleo standards go…). You basically throw it all in a big bowl, stir it up, pop it in the oven and voila! You got yourself a loaf of homemade, paleo friendly, super scrumptious raisin bread.

IMG_3081

Another thing I enjoy about this recipe, it’s not too sweet. I remember eating all those different brands: pepperidge farm, Cinnabon,  Sara Lee, etc… They were delicious, of course. How could they not be?!? But after a few pieces, my stomach was in knots. Why? All that darn sugar. Fortunately, my recipe is the perfect amount of sweet, with no refined sugar and is sure to leave your belly tummy-ache free.

This will be your go-to bread recipe for fall. Random, I know, but it’s true! I use this bread for crackers, french toast, egg sandwiches, you name it! Personally, I LVE thinly slicing the bread, broiling it until crispy, and serving it with duck or chicken liver paté…Mmm, my mouth is already watering at the thought.

 IMG_3082

Rockin’ Raisin Bread

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of Almond lfour
  • 1 cup cashew flour
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 5 eggs
  • ¼ cup of Grade B Maple Syrup
  • ¼ cup of grass fed butter, unsalted (Kerrygold)
  • 2 ½ teaspoons vanilla extract
  • ½ cup of raisins (soaked in warm water for 30 min)
  • ¼ cup of walnuts, chopped

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Line a bread pan with parchment paper, spray with coconut oil
  3. Combine all the dry ingredient and all the wet ingredients in separate bowls
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix well
  5. Add in the walnuts and the raisins
  6. Place in parchment bread pan
  7. Bake for 45-52 minutes (I like my bread firmer, so I usually keep it in the oven for longer, around 52 minutes)
  8. Take it out of the oven and let it cool completely!
  9. Voila!

IMG_3080-1

Notes:

These make GREAT crackers too! You can slice the bread really thin, place them on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for about 10-15 min, be sure to keep an eye on them! I have had quite a few batch burn. You can even put them on broil to get them really crispy. Just watch them!

Leave a Reply

