Just Like Mama Make’s It Chicken Soup

I came down with a little bug this week and I was exhausted. So exhausted, that I actually skipped the gym on Wednesday. Yes, I – Stevie Marie Mardjetko – skipped the gym… this NEVER happens. When I skip the gym, that’s really when something’s up. Here’s what I have learned: you must listen to your body. Simple enough, right? HA! Good joke. I’m a 23 yr old living in the Big Apple, juggling 3 different jobs, working out, writing a blog, and attempting to have a social life…for being such a health nut, I do not really listen to my body enough.

Anyways, on Friday my voice teacher yelled and me and told me to go home and rest, so I listened to her! Unfortunately, I am such a busy-body, that it is difficult for me to just sit still. So, of course, I was in the kitchen cooking all night. A few new recipes were born (I’ll be posting those soon!), but since I was not feeling good I thought chicken soup would be perfect.

Chicken Soup

I LVED this soup! You feel all warm and fuzzy inside with every bite. Also, its cheap to make and super duper easy. Magic word: CROCKPOT. I have the small crockpot and it is the perfect size cuz i’m only eating for one- duh.

IMG_3299

Just Like Mama Make’s It Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of carrots, chopped
  • 1 cup of celery, chopped
  • 8 cups of chicken stock (I think stock is wayyy more flavorful than broth), organic (make sure you read the ingredients, just in case!)
  • 2 Large Chicken breasts, seasoned with salt & pepp
  • 2 Large tablespoons of minced garlic
  • 1 medium white onion, minced
  • 1 cup of white wine (I LVE my French Whites)
  • Salt & Pepp to taste
  • 2-3 Bay Leaves

Directions:

  1. Chop all your veggies and place in the bottom of the crock pot, add the minced garlic
  2. Season your chicken breasts and place on top of the chopped veggies
  3. Add the chicken stock and white wine
  4. Place on high for 8 hours or low for 5 hours
  5. Once the chicken is cooked through, take the breasts out of the broth and shred with a fork and knife, then simply place the shredded chicken back into the crockpot
  6. Season with salt & pepp to taste! (Believe me, salt goes along way and really help bring the flavors out!
  7. Enjoy your wonderfully warm bowl of Mama’s Chicken Soup! Let me tell you, it hits the friggin spot.

IMG_3331

IMG_3332

Leave a Reply

