The Neapolitan

So, it’s official: I AM BRILLIANT. Not to “toot” my own horn or anything, but this is recipe is an original Baconista creation. No one, no where has EVER attempted a Neapolitan flavored cake. This was one of my biggest successes to date. On the first try, I pretty much nailed it. You have to be patient with this recipe and have alot of time. I was doing work at home, so it was easy for me to put together all the pieces…

I recently organized my pantry and let me tell ya- it makes cooking/baking a whole lot easier. I bought clear, twistable containers in 3 various sizes, created some homemade labels, and voila! My pantry was suddenly clean as a whistle and b-e-a-utiful.

IMG_3514

So, this is a long recipe. I swear, just stick with it, it totally pays off. I PROMISE! Both the cakes came out super moist and had great flavor. As you can tell, I’m really pattin’ myself on the back with this one. PLUS, I feel sooo cool because I think it’s super original to the paleo world.

Side tangent: I’m sorta sick right now and have this super bad head cold, but regardless of this, I tried to learn some new music today. All in all, my friday evening consisted of a 20-something makin’ some cake while singing along to her favorite MT (musical theatre) songs. #White Girl Problems.

IMG_3507

The Neapolitan

Vanilla Layer:

  • 1/2cup coconut flour, sifted
  • 1 tsp celtic sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup Kerrygold butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup of erythritol
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 vanilla pod, seeds scraped and added to mixture

Directions:

  1. Combine coconut flour, salt, and baking soda
  2. In a separate bowl blend together eggs, Kerry gold butter, Maple Syrup and vanilla
  3. Mix wet ingredients into dry and blend with a mixer or hand blender until smooth
  4. Pour batter into 1- 9 inch cake pan
  5. Bake at 350 for 35 minutes

Chocolate Layer:

  • 1/3 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup high quality cacao powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon celtic sea salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup of Kerrygold butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup erythritol
  • 1/4 cup baking chocolate
  • ¼ cup of water
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F
  2. Grease cake pans and line the bottoms with parchment paper
  3. Melt the ¼ cup of baking chocolate and ¼ cup of water in pot or in small microwave safe bowl
  4. Combine coconut flour, cacao, baking soda and salt in a small bowl and set aside.
  5. In the bowl of a stand mixer, with whisk attachment, whisk the eggs.
  6. Add the oil/butter/ghee, maple syrup, coffee and vanilla extract and continue to mix until combined.
  7. Add the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.
  8. Mix on low speed until the dry ingredients are incorporated – about 30 seconds. Scrape down sides of mixing bowl (you may need to do this a couple of times) and beat cake batter on high speed for about one full minute so that the batter is fluffy
  9. Bake 30 minutes in 1- 9 inch pan, toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean
  10. Allow to cool on a wire rack for about 10-15 minutes
  11. Use a knife to loosen the sides of the cake from the pan and turn out onto the wire rack and allow to cool completely.

Strawberry Frosting:

  • 1 cup palm shortening
  • 1/4 cup raw honey
  • 1/3 cup erythritol
  • 2 Tsp vanilla
  • 4 Tbsp arrowroot powder
  • 4 Tbsp coconut flour
  • 4 Tbsp coconut oil or kerrygold butter, melted
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • ¾ – 1 cup of ground freeze-dried strawberries (depending on how strawberry-ish you want it!)

Directions:

  • Take whole freeze-dried strawberries and process into a powder in your food processor
  • In a mixing bowl, combine everything except the coconut oil
  • Blend with a hand mixer until well combined
  • Drizzle coconut oil in slowly while mixing on high
  • Mix until whipped together

PUT IT TOGETHER!!! Make sure your cakes are completely cooled before you start to assemble the cake.

I sliced fresh strawberries to put in between the layers.. .YUM

Side note: If you like A LOT of frosting, I would DEFINITELY double the frosting recipe. I wish I would have because the frosting is DA-BOMB-DOT-COM. If your not a huge frosting person stay with the original recipe.

IMG_3508

Pure deliciousness…

IMG_3511

Leave a Reply

