Kobe Beef Sloppies with Tangy BBQ

HALLELUJAH!!! Through the thick of it all (no pun intended), I have finally found the perrrfect BBQ recipe. All jokes aside- I have tried around 5 different recipes…FIVE. Do you know how much trial and error that is? Cups upon cups of Italian strained tomatoes gone to waste! A damn shame… Some of the recipes I tried were from other paleo bloggers, then others I tried to concoct myself. Honestly, they were all pretty big failures. They just didn’t have that tanginess I was looking for. I am a sucker for  Worcestershire sauce and I absolutely LVE it in my BBQ. But alas, the good ole’ Lea & Perrins is by no means paleo approved. I was using this vegan Worcestershire for a while, but it still contained soy, sugar, and a lot of other goodies that didn’t fit the paleo guidelines.

But, HERE WE ARE and do I have a treat in store for you! This BBQ is your classic, sweet & tangy finish with that little extra cayenne kick at the end. DELICIOUSNESS. What a better way to celebrate my success than make a high-end sloppy joe. I had fresh kobe beef burger patties in the fridge and my new fabulous BBQ. All in all, these were THE BEST (really, I’m not trying to be dramatic) sloppies I have ever made. The BBQ was perfect with the kobe. They were moist, and packed with flavor. I put the sloppie mixture on my Cranberry Walnut Bread…it was the ultimate winter comfort food. PLUS, I made a side of balsamic roasted butternut squash with pomegranate and pecans. All the flavors paired perfectly together.

Any who, I deem you a darn fool if you don’t give this BBQ sauce a shot. It’s pretty friggin’ easy if you ask me. There’s no chopping involved. you just put everything in a pan and let it simmer until thick. Yea, that easy.

The Baconista - Tangy BBQ Sauce

Totally Tangy BBQ

  • 16 oz tomato sauce (2 cups)
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup balsamic vinegar
  • ½ cup raw, local honey
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1 tsp Sea Salt
  • 1 Tbs ground mustard
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1 tsp of garlic powder
  • 2 tsp chili powder ( I did 1 tsp of chipotle chili powder and 1 tsp of regular)
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (If you like a kick, bump this up to 1/2 tsp)

 

Directions

  1. Place all ingredients in a medium saucepan over medium high heat and stir to combine. Taste and adjust any seasonings to your liking. Bring to a boil.
  2. Reduce heat to low and allow to simmer for 1 hour.

 

 

 

The Baconista

Leave a Reply

