Savory Spinach Artichoke Dip

This shit is crack. I eat it by the spoonful. No joke. I originally tried Juli’s Spinach & Atrichoke dip, but I found that it was lacking some of the creaminess I wanted and some flavor. Honestly though, I’m bad at following recipes. I’m a cook, so I make stuff up as I go along. I put together flavors I think will work well, usually add some salt and garlic, then voila! I have a meal. So to give Juli (PaleOMG) some credit, I didn’t measure out much of the spices in her recipe. This being said, I have tried my HARDEST to measure out my recipe, so that it tastes as good for you as it does for me.

This is AMAZE-BALLS.

Enjoy with carrot sticks, celery, cucumbers (my personal fav), paleo approved bread…whatevaaaa!

Savory Spinach Artichoke Dip - The Baconista

 Savory Spinach Artichoke Dip

Ingredients:

  • 2 – 10oz. packages of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained of excess water
  • 1 – 14oz. can of artichoke hearts in brine, chopped
  • 2 – 10oz, containers of marinated artichoke heats, chopped (keep the liquid on the side)
  • 2½ cups of raw cashews
  • 1 cup of olive oil
  • 3/4 cup of Almond Milk, unsweetened
  • 6 Tbs. Garlic powder
  • 5 ½ Tbs. Onion Powder
  • 1 Tbs. Salt
  • ½ Tbs. Pepper
  • ½ tsp. Cayenne Pepper
  • ½ cup of Liquid from the oil marinated artichokes

Directions:

  1. Take the frozen spinach and thaw it out, squeeze out the excess liquid
  2. Take the artichokes and chop them up, coarsely
  3. Place artichoke and chopped spinach in large bowl
  4. Place cashews in a large food processor and pulse into fine powder
  5. Add olive oil and a few tablespoons of almond milk
  6. Pulse until cashews are nice and creamy
  7. Add the cashew/olive oil mixture to the artichokes and spinach and combine well
  8. Once combined, add all the spices and mix
  9. Add the rest of the almond milk and the liquid from the marinated artichokes
  10. Mix thoroughly! You may need to adjust some of the seasonings, according to your personal taste buds ;]
  11. Heat up in the micro or in the oven if desired (I do!)
  12. Add more almond milk if necessary (I usually like to add a little more, it get’s drier and drier as you heat up the mixture more and more)

The Baconista

Leave a Reply

