Morning Mug Muffin

I have been obsessed with making mug muffins lately! Why? Cuz they are super easy to throw together and you basically get a pretty good snack or breakfast item in about 3 minutes. Way easier than bringing out the pots n’ pans and frying up an egg. Honestly, I’m not usually a breakfast person, but I have been trying to make a conscious effort to eat a little something before I start my insanely hectic day.

New York is a little crazy right now because we just experienced our first winter storm — Pause real quick — okay, I’m from Chicago, Midwest born and raised. I grew up trekking in 3 feet of snow to get to the school bus everyday day. No offense, but New Yorker’s get their panties all-up-in-a-bunch about snow and I find it friggin’ hilarious. They literally shut down the entire city for approx. 10 inches of snow. Granted, this is in Manhattan, there were other places who got *GASP* 15 inches! Holy cow… So, what do I do with my snow day? Put in some hours on my blog, duh!

Side note: I really enjoy blogging. Like, a lot. Not that I think anyone really reads any of this, but it’s super cathartic none the less.

I digress, so this is the PERFECT morning muffin. I’v also been experimenting with making chocolate coconut, blueberry, strawberry etc… It’s really easy. The only tricky part is knowing when it’s done. So If I were you, I would try to use a clear mug, so you can see what’s going on down-under. This may be a “muffin”, but it’s packed with protein and healthy nutrients. I use erythritol to cut down the calories and the sugar craving, plus is low glycemic. You can always use honey or maple syrup to sweeten it as well.

Banana-Nut Mug Muffin

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs. of Almond Four
  • ½-¾ of a small VERY RIPE banana (I’m talking full on brown color), it should be around 2-3 Tbs, mashed
  • 1½Tbs of erythritol or honey
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp of cinnamon
  • ½ tsp of baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • Chopped walnuts, 2-3 Tbs

Directions:

  1. Place everything in a microwave safe mug, preferably clear
  2. Combine well!
  3. Place in microwave for 2-3 minutes (My mic takes 3 minutes)
  4. Take out of microwave and let it cool in the mug for a few minutes
  5. Turn the mug upside down unto a place and let muffin fall out on a plate, allow to cool for 5 minutes
  6. Enjoy!

 Here are some of the other Mug recipes I have been making!

Blueberry Mug Muffin

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs. of Almond Four
  • 2 Tb of apple sauce, unsweetened or berry flavored
  • 1½Tbs of erythritol or honey
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp of baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 2-3 Tbs of blueberries

Directions:

  1. See Banana-Nut Mug Muffin

Chocolate Coconut Mug Muffin

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs. of Almond Four
  • 2 Tb of apple sauce, unsweetened
  • 1½Tbs of erythritol or honey
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp of baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbs of cocoa powder
  • 1-2 Tbs of unsweetened coconut flakes

Directions:

  1. See Banana-Nut Mug Muffin!

Chocolate Banana Mug Muffin

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs. of Almond Four
  • ½-¾ of a small VERY RIPE banana (I’m talking full on brown color), it should be around 2-3 Tbs, mashed
  • 1½Tbs of erythritol or honey
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp of baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbs of cocoa powder
  • 1 Tbs of chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. See Banana-Nut Mug Muffin!

 

2015/01/img_5247.jpg

 

Poppyseed Lemon Cornbread (in a mug!)

Ingredients:

  • 3 Tbs of almond flour
  • 1/2 Tbs of coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp of baking powder
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1 Tbs of poppy seeds
  • 1 Tbs of erythritol
  • 1 Tbs of raw honey
  • 2 Tbs of grass-fed butter, melted
  • 1/3 of a lemon, squeezed

Directions:

  1. See Banana-Nut Mug Muffin!
Leave a Reply

